Spain: Viva la Feria!! @ Feria de Málaga


The best decision I made when I was on the Andalucía trip was to stay a bit longer in Málaga for Ferias. I did a bit of research before I left and I was so happy that the Ferias happened to be held during my trip. Thus, after visiting Morocco, I took a bus back to Málaga 2 days before I flew back to Germany. And I gotta say, it was a great experience – Feria de Málaga.

DSC_1113

Feria de Málaga takes place every August in Málaga and runs 9 days in rows. The street is decorated nicely with paper lanterns and flags. The day is divided into to 2 – day and night. During the day, everyone is out dancing and drinking. All bars are opened for people to buy drinks. Music is everywhere in the city so that you can feel the festival’s atmosphere so compelling. Women put on their Flamenco dresses and everyone have different looks. They really bring even more colours to the Feria. What I was so excited about the most must be the traditional dance Sevillanas. I had heard about the dance before my trip started and it seemed like cooler than Tango. And the truth is, it is cooler. Full of passion and intimacy. I love dancing myself and this was very fascinating. I felt closer to the culture, felt the vibe of people around me and enjoyed the drink of Feria – Cartojal.

DSC_1073 DSC_1088 DSC_1096 DSC_1103 DSC_1111 DSC_1112

 

In the evening, the party is moved to the west side of Málaga, where the Palacio de Congresos is located. The fair is spread out the whole area that could take you 1 hour to walk around. The place is decorated beautifully as a fairy land with outstanding light. The place is incomparable with any other fair. For once, I have found a greater fair than Düsseldorfer Kirmes. There are many different tents that you can hop in and join the party. Most tents have latino music on so if you’re a latino lover like me, you will enjoy it so much. Seeing people dancing, feeling the music really made me feel so happy and somehow turned me into one of Andalusian.

IMG_2638-2

Here are 5 reasons that why you should come to Málaga for Feria

  1. It’s the best way to understand the Andalusian culture
  2. You can enjoy many different Spanish/Andalusian alcohol – Cartojal, Rebujito, Sangria…
  3. It’s full of positive vibe – people dancing, enjoying the moment, unlimited drinking
  4. Be a part of one of the best festivals in Spain
  5. 9 days in rows non-stop partying

Personally, I wanted to see something really cultural from this region. It was so fascinating that i decided to lengthen my stay in Málaga. I would possibly stay for the whole 9 day if I come back to Málaga for Feria. Great experience!

DSC_1063 DSC_1070 DSC_1077 DSC_1078 DSC_1082 DSC_1083

During the Feria, I was interviewed by La Opínion de Málaga. Find out what I talked about here

Angela Koblitz, una germana con rasgos asiáticos, aseguraba en calle Larios que ama la cultura malagueña y disfruta mucho de estas «fiestas tan peculiares», al tiempo que pedía ayuda para abrir un botella de Cartojal. También se considera una apasionada de todo lo relacionado con España y su cultura, para la que no encontraba un calificativo correcto.

Leave a Reply

