Portugal: A Gleam of Ria Formosa


There were sun, sand and water. I was surrounded by the utmost beauty of nature. I was out there, embracing the nature that Faro has given. On the first day of my stay, I couldn’t help my excitement to see the wonder of Ria Formosa. Thus, I decided to take a boat in the late afternoon to go to Ilha Deserta.

The boat was floating and bringing me slowly to the island. With the guide, I was explained clearly about Ria Formosa and its surroundings. It actually amazed me that this small town Faro could own such a beauty. Like they said – ‘Our economy might be poor but we are rich in nature’. It was just wonderful! The sun shined on the water, making it sparkle. Seagulls screeched, storks chilled out on the land that was still not sunk by the high tide. The sea breeze went through my hair and brought with it was the refreshing smell of nature – bit fishy, bit weedy. And I loved it!

DSC_1190

After 45 minutes floating on Ria Formosa, the boat arrived to Ilha Deserta. First impression: UNTAMED. I was dropped off in the middle of Ria Formosa. The island is rather small, however, would take up to 1 hour to walk around. There is a hiking route that I found remarkable and quite romantic. It felt like I was lost in a dry land, but surrounded by water. I was caught up being so excited to see the catch of the day of some fishermen. Some even caught a big octopus.

The sky and the water were so blue. Everything seemed like a perfect picture. I was stunned for a moment. Too bad I did not have so much time spending on the island so I could not reach the ‘southest’ point. Then I walked on to the beach. It was so relaxing and peaceful. I believe it must be very crowded during the holiday season. I found myself lucky to have a sunny day in the middle of October with no tourists on this island. I just had to enjoy that atmosphere and embrace the beauty of nature.

Just an hour hanging out on Ilha Deserta, I got to rush to take the boat back to Faro. Funnily, everything looked a bit different from what I had seen earlier. Turned out, the tide got lower. At that moment, everything that was hidden under the water before became vivid. It was surprising and interesting. The sun was going down and it made everything golden. I wish I could have a good camera lens and a great skill of photography to take that perfect picture that was in front of me. But, nothing is better than enjoying the moment. And I did. I laid back and enjoyed the sunset.

DSC_1205 DSC_1220

DSC_1219

DSC_1227

DSC_1228

DSC_1232


 

PIN IT

PIN RIA FORMOSA

5 thoughts on “Portugal: A Gleam of Ria Formosa

    1. Hi John, It’s been a long time! Hope you’re fine.
      I’m wondering what you think about those photos that I took for this trip.

      photo

      And I’m gonna have another big trip soon so can’t wait to tell you about it.

      Cheerio,
      Angela

Leave a Reply

