Enjoyment of Life and Travel


DSC_4274

When you call yourself a traveller, you always strive to reach to every point of the world to see things that you have heard of. Actually, I am not so sure if that how you see traveller right. Or is that called a tourist? I have realised that when most people travel, they certainly want to see the most well-known attractions or we call ‘must-see’, and tracing the attraction track to cover them all. However, how I see it is as a failure of travelling. The lack of time has made us rush and become a tourist. Our eyes just stare at the travel guide book to get information instead of wandering around to get answer, getting to historical sites and focusing on photographing the attractions to share on social media… Too hectic, don’t you think? Especially, some travel bloggers out there try their best to check out all places in one destination to write their posts and forget about their passion for travelling. I have lost myself in some of those times but I at the same time have found my way back to my passion and just enjoy what I have at that moment. As I always tell myself: Pictures can be kept, moments not.

Travelling alone could really do great for yourself to see things in a different way. The ability to focus on details is what I have learnt and it has taught me to appreciate things as they are instead of how they are described. When was your last time looking up close at a certain building, touching the sand to feel if it’s wet, or simply enjoying the heat even if it is freaking 40 degree hot. I have started to learn to slow down and look around me what is happening, enjoy the moment which I wouldn’t get when I am not travelling. The day I found the joy of a second standing still must be finding my mind lost in the sunset on Koh Lanta – A place I didn’t plan to go but became the place I found myself and got the best experience of my whole trip.

DSC_1087

“Then the night reached to this island. I loved the fact that I stayed in a bungalow that was 20 steps away from the beach. I took a stroll spontaneously on the beach at one night. Some restaurants were still open and had music on. The dimmed candle lights could be seen from a distance. Oh, it could be very romantic if I was with someone. Crickets chirped. Waves pounded the shore. I looked up and there were stars, sparkling over the dark sky. The full moon light illuminated equivocally behind the trees. That moment is so hard that impossible to find in the city. I was soaked up in the dark for a while. The only thing I hated was the mosquitos. But I wouldn’t do a crazy thing if I was so bothered by them. I ran to the water. Having my legs in the cold water felt just amazing. I could have actually dipped my whole body in unless I was not having my phone in my purse. And just like that, another day on this beautiful island passed by.” – Koh Lanta, Feb 2015

You say it is easy to enjoy the moment because you simply just have to relax. I say it is not! Social media is covering our free-time and certainly the urge of being in touch has been so crucial. I am no exception for those social media addicts. One time I talked to T and he said it was not travelling if you had your phone and your laptop with you. I spoke against it aggressively to prove my point that I was still a traveller with them without any consideration. It was 4 months ago and now I get it. When my head was over Instagram or blogging, I felt exhausted enough to enjoy my travels. Daily life is no difference – before crawling out of bed all social medias need to be checked, email checked…. Habits would follow our way to wherever you are, so better change it, shall we?

Why don’t we take sometime to listen to some good tunes of music when we wake up, dance along, get some bites for our tummies. Getting some fresh air would do good as well, opening your windows to check out the weather of today or maybe you are up early to catch the sunrise. A good breakfast is something I am so fascinate about when I first wake up. Strolling out to the kitchen with the radio on, I feel so energetic. I certainly still need to learn to manage my time on social media but everything needs a start. Sometimes I choose to write on my notebook instead of typing to get some writings done. In fact, it is way much better then typing because there is no distractions and less hesitations when it comes to writing on the paper.

We all sometimes need to learn to enjoy ! And especially to appreciate every single moment you have wherever you are and whatever you do!

9 thoughts on “Enjoyment of Life and Travel

  1. I think you are so right. I am a bit off with Facebook these days, I use it for business and keeping in touch with family abroad, however I now use Instagram as a tool more than anything. I recently went to Paris and insisted on not taking as many photos as usual. The ones I took are on my blog in a blog post about Paris, and I have to say I felt a bit disgusted by myself because I had never taken photos of food before but I wanted to document the different foods I had tried. I have recently noticed as well that not only in my travels but when visiting friends, I don’t take photos as much as before, I just enjoy the moment. I think you have to have a really good balance. I for example refuse to blog when I am abroad, but then my trips are very short as I work fulltime so I always write about it promptly after. I think if I am able to go travelling for 3 months I will have to take my laptop to be able to document the trip and share it on my blog, but I have to say my favourite part of blogging my travels, is the fact that I can share my moments of complete loss that always mean i find myself.

    1. I understand you completely. It’s actually really hard to balance the blogging life and the travelling life. They say that you need to have commitment as a travel blogger but then I find some travel blogs so shallow because what they write is not genuine anymore. I think it’s better to have quality than quantity. Just like sharing photos on Instagram. It’s not necessary to share once a day to gain followers. Better to have a good shot and have a good engagement than having thousands of followers but just a few likes. But you’re right! We can always set our goal for blogging is to share moments that you have during travelling 🙂

      1. That is so true! I totally believe that travel is a personal experience so I really dislike people that blog formulas. Top 10. Places not to miss etc. It’s a personal choice. Like I wrote about food in paris and cannes and said honestly if you can try these restaurants but those were my choices. Some of them worked some didn’t. I believe it’s better to share your experience and out of that people will gather whether or not they’d like to experience the same… 🙂

  2. GREAT post Angela… I agree and share your struggle with social media and online life. Especially as a travel writer and someone who works entirely online. Choosing to be in the present moment and not just carry away a photograph of a moment I missed is something I’m continually working on. Expect to be quoted in this Friday’s round up on BootsnAll! Thanks for participating in #doyouindie

  3. I agree with most completely. This is the first time in over 12 years of my backpacking life I have wrote anything online for others. I also have no other social media and don’t own a phone. Over the past decade I have seen more and more travellers treat their life on the road as a job or simply another FB post and it is so sad. Social media, and more importantly people’s weakness and addiction to this media is (in my opinion) ruining the genuine nature of the actual travel itself. Great post!

    1. It is truly sad for me seeing a lot of ‘travel bloggers’ being on this platform just to earn money. I have been blogging for more than 4 years and did even earn a cent and I am so happy with it. I did not have to always focus on luring people or asking for sponsored. But the urge of sharing with people is quite difficult to get rid of. Nonetheless, I’m sure at one point, you would just find a moment that you just want to let go all of it. Thank you for reading 🙂 I always appreciate people’s thoughts and love whatever people comment because it means more to me than having tons of followers and call myself a writer but no one gives a damn. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

