Germany: James T. Hunt Bar – My second living room in Munich


Jame T. Hunt

Address: Schellingstraße 32, 80799 München
Website: www.jameshuntbar.com


Not really a bar hopper but I always appreciate few good glasses of cocktails from time to time. When it comes to cocktails, I want to pay a good amount of money on those. With the experience of bar keeping for the last year, I am even stricter on what I drink. If you ask me about how to make cocktails, to be honest, I did not learn how to do it but just by following recipe and shaking it hard. But how to taste cocktails, I am sure you can trust what I am about to tell you.

DSC_1445

It was the middle of the week but I was asked to go out for some drinks at James T. Hunt bar. I never care which day it is to have a good drink because it can always push your spirit and nothing is wrong with a bit of alcohol. Kinda cool that the bar is so vivid but at the same time hidden. I crossed by Schellingstrasse for millions times but never really knew that there was a chic bar standing there.What is James T. Hunt? I don’t really know and don’t even have the urge to ask. But it has got me hooked since the very first time. The fact that I was sitting in a cosy place with great interior, you know me, I wouldn’t trade it for anything else. In the concept of a small living room, James T. Hunt has pull out its friendly atmosphere that people come here could feel like at home. I was, in that case, feeling too much at home that I lost the time. Or was that because those cocktails were hitting on me because to be honest, I did not just take one.

DSC_1517-5

DSC_1442

I got my first sip on the Berry Bomb and couldn’t slow myself down. It was quite a different taste compared to other cocktails I had tried, but it was certainly great. I tried to figure out what was wrong with my drink, why was it so good but so strange at the same time. Until the last drop of that Cherry Bomb in the bottom of the glass, I still couldn’t figure it out. All I tasted was absolutely damn fine alcohol with a playful taste but still yet not know what. There came my second cocktail. I think everyone was wondering what was in my mind because of my dull face. YES! I GOT IT! It was not sweet! I realised how we had always been tricked by the sweetness in the cocktails that they fooled your mind that cocktails need to be sweet. Maybe I am the only fool here. However, I found out there was no sugar in my drink and I asked Simon – the bar chef to be sure. A man who can make you a good drink, you just have to watch out before you fall in love with him. No, I am just kidding but what I am talking about is, alcohol could make you happy and a man who knows how to make good one for you…? Back to the cocktails story, I suppose you all have this expectation of sweetness when you order a cocktail. Maybe you do not notice it but your brain has kept a note for you without your permission. Simon shared with me that all sirups added in the cocktails are homemade from fresh ingredients. All the magic is created by this man.

If you love cocktails, come to have a try when you are around in Munich. If you like, come again! That how I did and now I have made it my second living room. A great place to hang and beautiful drinks are something you cannot ask for more. A good company maybe, but you won’t even feel lonely in James T. Hunt. You should find out yourself why!

DSC_1424

DSC_1429

DSC_1460

DSC_1465

DSC_1488-1

DSC_1493-2

DSC_1497-3

DSC_1501-4 DSC_1519-6

 

4 thoughts on “Germany: James T. Hunt Bar – My second living room in Munich

Leave a Reply

