First impressions of Tanzania


24 hours in the air stopping by 3 airports, I arrived finally in the land of Tanzania. I was prepared to get the cold from Tanzanian weather but the sun was shining bright and warm when I arrived. I landed in Kilimanjaro Airport and there is nothing like I have seen. Planes parked in the middle of the road and we got off and walked to the lobby. 50$ paid for the visa and I was good to go through the custom. People from Heri Africa Tours were waiting for me outside and welcomed me nicely. We took a drive from the airport to Arusha where I would have a night stay before the safari and I couldn’t help but show my excitement when I saw things around there. Fascinating enough, I could not wait for my adventure the coming 2 weeks in this country.

For sure, I felt welcomed here in this country and people there made me so. There were so many things I had learnt just on the first day of my stay that people have to come to Tanzania to see otherwise all your assumptions are just a myth.

Tanzania is green

DSC_4295

 

That fact you can see the moment you was hanging on the air of Tanzania. From the airplane, I was amazed by how endlessly green their country looks from above. Of course, I was told that it would look different when it is in dry season. So let say, I was lucky to come when it was at the greenest. Big parts of the country are national parks which I would be joining in a safari tour to see. However, you would find grass, rice fields, trees growing all over.

Tanzania is wild

DSC_4311

Most people come to Tanzania for the safari, to see wild animals. You can call Tanzania wild because of that. But actually, I mean nature made and no touch of modernity. Everything surrounding you is simple with no luxury. Maasai people walk around luring their goats and cows, kids running around their houses giggling with each other…

Tanzanian people are friendly

DSC_4285

Maybe because they see me as a tourist but they are welcoming and warm hearted. They always try to make you feel at home and that what I got from Heri Africa Tours. Right on my first day in Tanzania, I got welcomed with the famous dance from Maasai people. Everyone has his or her smile on the face. At that moment, I felt overwhelmed by how special they made me feel and my heart was warm. I felt great to land my feet on this country.

 

Hospitality and service are over the top

DSC_4339

I have travelled to several countries in different continents, nowhere have I got such great hospitality and service than here in Tanzania. No matter where you are, they will help you as much as in their capabilities. And staying in their accommodation, they make you a home, which will always put a smile on you.

Bumpy roads are common

DSC_4364

Before landing in Tanzania, be prepared for the roads there. They call it ‘The African massage’. Besides their main roads, Tanzanian roads are most of the time very bumpy. Highways can be smooth but ‘til you entering your accommodation, there your bumps are gonna dance on those seats so get ready for the ride.

 

People tell me that Africa is dangerous. People tell me that Tanzanians are full of scams. Let me tell you: people in Tanzania are down to earth, they do not care about luxury and they will always welcome you with open arms. Come to Tanzania and see it yourself!

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “First impressions of Tanzania

  1. Tanzanians are absolutely beautiful! I loved my two months i spent in the country, just at the base of Kilimanjaro. You will absolutely love safari too 🙂 i have a few posts on my time there on my blog if you fancy a read or any tips!
    Enjoy! 🙂

    1. Would def check them out. I am staying in Tanzania for few weeks but then will be moving there to live part-time. It is a lovely country and sure I did enjoy the safari. I am sure I will have much more time to climb Kili and Mt. Meru 🙂
      Cheers!

    1. True thing. Some think Africa is like a big country… But I never take those people’s words. Actually, so many people just say things but they have never experienced it themselves.

  2. Sounds fabulous! I have encountered scams and people only interested in my money (which I don’t have but some assume so bc I’m white) in Kenya – but in the end, most of the people were hospitable and very friendly! The roads in Kenya are also very bumpy. I have never been to Tanzania but would love to go one day.

    1. I haven’t been to Kenya but what I have seen so far in Tanzania, there is no scams at all. I certainly look far from a local but I gotta say, people are so friendly and helpful. They take really good care of you. I really think that you would love Tanzania when you visit because people here are so warm-hearted and the nature is just.. wow!

  3. Looks amazing! My dream is to go there one day. My grandparents lived in Tanzania and my mother was born there, in Moshi. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to see it for myself. Will you be posting more about Tanzania?

    1. Hoi Tessa, you should really come to see this country. I am heading to Moshi too so will show you what it looks like. I will be posting about Tanzania the coming days for sure and in the future too because i will be living part time here.

  4. This sounds amazing already! I need to visit these places! I’m visiting Indonesia soon which I will be posting about…check out my blog!

  5. i have lived in this country for 22 years and i am so proud to be a part of this lovely community and i am a start up blogger who will be writing about different cultural practices in Tanzania

Leave a Reply

